UN Country Team

The UN System in Ethiopia is one of the largest in Africa and covers both development and humanitarian assistance. The United Nations Country Team (UNCT) in Ethiopia is composed of representatives of 27 UN funds and programmes, specialized agencies and other UN entities accredited to Ethiopia as well as representatives of the Bretton Woods institutions.

 

Some of the UN agencies in the UNCT have regional mandate or act as liaison offices to the ECA and the African Union.   

 

The UNCT supports Ethiopia in achieving Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) and the goals set in the national Growth and Transformation Plan. It does this through its common strategic framework, United Nations Development Assistance Framework in Ethiopia (UNDAF).

 

The UNCT is led by the UN Resident Coordinator as the senior official of the UN in Ethiopia.

 

 

UN Country Team Organogram

 

 

 

 

 

 

                                                                               UN Country Team in Ethiopia

 

   

 

FAO      

              

 

Mr. Amadou Allahoury Diallo,

Representative to Ethiopia

Email:  Amadou.Allahoury@fao.org

Tel: +251 116 47 88 88

Web: www.fao.org

FAO Profile

 

 

  IFAD

 

Mr. UlaƧ Demirag

Country Director & Representative

 Email: u.demirag@ifad.org

Tel: +01116172430

Web: www.ifad.org

  IFAD Profile

 

 

ILO

 

Mr. George Okutho

Director of ILO Country Office for Ethiopia, Somalia, Djibouti, South Sudan and Sudan as well as Special Representative to the AU and ECA

Email: okutho@ilo.org

Tel: +251 115 51 43 13

Web: www.ilo.org

ILO Profile 

 

 ILRI

 

Ms. Gail Amare

Head of Administration

Email: g.amare@cgiar.org

Tel: +251 116 17 20 00

Web: www.cgiar.org

 

 

           

 IOM

 

Ms. Maureen Achieng

IOM Chief of Mission & Representative to AU/ECA/IGAD

Email:  machieng@iom.int

Tel: +251 116 61 11 33

Web: www.iomethiopia.org

IOM Profile

 

  ITU   

 

Mr. Andrew Rugege

Regional Director for Africa

Email:  andrew.Rugege@itu.int 

Tel: +0115514977

Web: www.itu.int

ITU Profile

             

 

OHCHR

 

Idrissa Kane

Regional Representative

Email: ikane@uneca.org

Tel: +251 115 44 35 47

Web: www.ohchr.org

OHCHR Profile

 

 

 

UNAIDS

 

Ms. Miriam Maluwa

Country Director,

UNAIDS Country Office

Email:  Maluwam@unaids.org

Tel: +251 115 51 01 52

Web: www.unaids.org

UNAIDS Profile

 

 

 

UNDP

 

 

Ms. Louise Chamberlain

Country Director

Email: louise.chamberlain@undp.org 

Tel: +251 11 5444332
Cell: + 251 911 224163
Twitter: @ChamberlainUNDP
Website: www.et.undp.org
Twitter: @UNDPEthiopia
Facebook: UNDPinEthiopia
7th floor, Congo Building
ECA Compound
P.O.Box 5580 Addis Ababa, Ethiopia

UNDP

 

 

UNECA

 

Mrs. Ingrid Cyimana

Director of Strategic Planning and Operational Quality DivisionEmail:

ICyimana@uneca.org

Tel: +251 115 44 33 24

Web: www.uneca.org

UNECA Profile

 

UNEP

 

Mr. Samba Harouna

Head of Unit liaison office to AU and ECA

and Representative to Ethiopia

Email: samba.harouna@unep.org

Tel: +251 115 44 54 02

Web: www.unep.org

UNEP Profile

 

UNESCO

Mr. Alaphia Wright

Representative to Ethiopia, the AUC and the ECA

Email:  a.wright@unesco.org

Tel: +0115511414

Web: www.unesco.org

UNESCO Profile

 

UNFPA

 

Ms. Bettina Maas

Representative

maas@unfpa.org

Tel: +251 115 44 40 28

Web: www.unfpa.org

UNFPA Profile

 

 

 

UN HABITAT

 

 

Mr. Aklilu Fikresilassie Kabiso

Habitat Programme manager 

Email: aklilu.fikresilassie@unhabitat.org

Tel: +251 911040641

Web: http://unhabitat.org/ethiopia/

UN HABITAT Profile

 

 

UNHCR

 

Ms.Clementine Nkweta-Salami

Representative

Email:  nkwetasa@unhcr.org

 Tel: +251 116 61 28 22

Web: www.unhcr.org

UNHCR Profile

 

UNICEF

 

Ms. Gillian Mellsop

Country Representative

Email:  gmellsop@unicef.org

Tel: +251 115 18 40 01

Web: www.unicef.org

UNICEF Profile

 

UNIDO

 

Mr. Gustavo  Aishemberg

Representative and Director of the Regional Office

Email: G.Aishemberg@unido.org

Tel: +251 115 51 42 45

Web: www.unido.org

UNIDO Profile

 

 

UNOAU

 

Mr. Haile Menkerios 

Special Representative of the Secretary-General (SRSG) to the African Union

Email: menkerios@un.org

Tel: +251 115 50 67 55

Web: https://unoau.unmissions.org/

UNOAU Profile

 

UNOCHA

 

Mr. Paul Handley

Head of Office

Email:  handleyp@un.org

Tel: +251 115 44 41 55

Web: www.ochaonline.un.org

UNOCHA Profile

 

UNODC

 

 

 

Ms. Maria Temesvari

OIC

Email:

Tel: 0115443832

Web: www.unodc.org

UNODC Profile

 

UNOPS

 

Ms. Worknesh Mekonnen Gonet

Director to Ethiopia Operational Hub and Representative to AU

Email:  WorkneshG@unops.org

Tel: +251 115 442150 (Ext 32150) 

Web: www.unops.org

UNOPS Profile

 

UNWOMEN

 

Ms. Letty Chiwara

 Representative to Ethiopia, the AUC & UNECA

Email: etty.chiwara@unwomen.org

Tel: +0115170816

Web: www.unwomen.org

UN WOMEN Profile

 

World Bank

 

Ms. Caroline Turk

Country Director for Ethiopia, Sudan and South Sudan

Email: cturk@worldbank.org

Tel: +251 115 17 60 40

Web: www.worldbank.org

 

WFP

 

Mr. Samir Wanmali

Director, a.i.

Tel: +0115514425

Web: www.wfp.org

WFP Profile

 

WHO

 

Dr Akpaka Kalu

Representative to Ethiopia

Email: kalu.akapaka@who.int

Tel: +0115445181

Web: www.who.int

WHO Profile

 

 

 

 

 

UNCTAD

 

Ms. Joy Kategekwa

Head of Regional Office for Africa

Email: joy.kategekwa@unctad.org

Tel: +251929380898